lb4me

Registered Member

#1 [url]

Aug 24 08 1:00 PM

Freshman on varsity...

Long Beach Wilson has one freshman on varsity who is a setter/rs and Redondo Union also has a freshman that is an outside/libero.

Last Edited By: lb4me Aug 24 08 7:17 PM. Edited 1 time.

Quote    Reply   

abraxas

Registered Member

#2 [url]

Aug 24 08 2:00 PM

Very rare around here

Yes it is a big deal and very rare here. None made it this year. Past 6 years our league has only had three freshmen make Varsity, separate schools, all setters with club experience, and 2 were starters. One has graduated and, although recruited by several schools, decided not to play in college because she was burned out. The others are still playing in HS.

But the most recent top two players from our league, both middles playing D1 now - did not make Varsity until sometime during their sophomore (and not at beginning) year.

As a freshman my DD did have friends who made Varsity soccer, cross-country, track, and softball. So maybe it happens more in other sports...

I do think that if a freshman makes Varsity and gets playing time - she is probably pretty special.

P.S. I edited because I no way meant to demean the girls who do make it early!

Last Edited By: abraxas Aug 24 08 5:30 PM. Edited 1 time.

Quote    Reply   

ktb182

Registered Member

#3 [url]

Aug 24 08 3:45 PM

Of course it's a big deal! My daughter made the varsity as a frosh at Mishawaka Marian (indiana) 4 years ago and had the time of her life! She was stunned to have made it, so much so she pinched herself. I will never forget the look on her face when she ran out to the car to tell me..........Now she's a frosh at Valpo and she can't wait to play!

Quote    Reply   

NYvbc

Registered Member

#4 [url]

Aug 24 08 5:33 PM

Freshmen on Varsity

We'll have 2 freshmen on the varsity team, but neither will see a lot of play time. The difference in practices makes it advantageous for these kids to be on varsity in our area...